Breaking news: no more visa on arrival for 45 countries!

by Maarten Rol

June 18, 2015
Great news for people coming to Bali! That is, from 45 countries and territories world-wide.
This week the Indonesian government at last finalized a regulation that was announced already some time ago. For tourists coming from 45 countries and territories their travel to Indonesia is now visa-free, effective as of June 12, 2015.

This means, more specific, visa-free entry on arrival for a maximum of 30 (thirty) days and only for tourism purposes. The day of arrival is counted as the first day, and the day of departure from the country must be latest on the 30th day.
Citizens from several states as well as the member states of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations could already come to Indonesia visa-free, but now the complete list of visa-free states and territories has become:
Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Brunei, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Russia, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States and Vietnam.

There are five international airports where the tourists of the 45 countries and territories can enter Indonesia visa-free: Hang Nadim in Batam, Juanda in Surabaya, Ngurah Rai in Bali, Kuala Namu in Medan and Soekarno-Hatta in Jakarta.

Visa-free for tourists from 45 countries and territories
Bali visa-free for citizens from 45 countries and territories!

Originally this regulation was scheduled to be in effect in April 2015, but apparently it has taken some more time to implement.
Australians will still need a visa to enter the country, although tourists can buy one on arrival.
The new regulation will mean a cheaper entry in Indonesia. For tourists of the above-mentioned countries the booth for obtaining the visa can probably be skipped; the customs check-in however will remain practically the same.

Do you like the news that coming to Indonesia will be visa-free for a lot of countries? Please Like or Share!

Previous - Next